Elected 2009

www.angelaharding.co.uk

Galleries showing works by Angela Harding

View all artists


"The main theme of my work is British birds combined with the British countryside.  Walking the dogs is a daily routine that is often the starting point for ideas. I work from small sketchbooks, noting down quick drawings of what I see while out walking. A love and fascination with birds has stayed with me from when I was a child.   I do not consider my self a twitcher, the interest I have is in their form and the environments they inhabit. Colour is also an important element of the work, soft English greens, greys and blues of the landscape or vibrant reds and oranges of autumn are a backdrop used alongside the bird forms."

Angela Harding studied Fine Art at Leicester 1979 – 1982 and later obtained an MA in Fine Art from Nottingham Trent University. After leaving college she continued to develop her personal work as well as working in the arts. She worked for Elstone Hayes Associates, an art consultancy working in the cruise industry and then as the Director of the regional printmaking centre, Leicester Print Workshop. She also taught to degree level at a number of Higher Education Colleges. She now works as a professional artist solely at her art practice.

Her work has an allegorical aspect that has reference to British painting of the 30’s, 40′s and 50′s, and the work of artists such as Eric Ravillious, David Jones and Winifred Nicolson.  Her home county of Rutland appears in her work, and Norfolk where she spends a lot of time walking and drawing. Angela Harding also takes advantage of the locations of the galleries she exhibits in – Cornwall, Suffolk and Shropshire are place she regularly visits and are often reflected in her work.

Galleries showing works by Angela Harding

Angela Harding

Ainscough Contemporary Art: www.acag.co.uk
Albany Gallery: www.albanygallery.com

Bircham Gallery: www.birchamgallery.co.uk
Cambridge Contemporary Art: www.cambridgegallery.co.uk
Design Twenty: www.designtwenty.com
Hayletts Gallery: www.haylettsgallery.com
Hornsey’s: www.hornseys.com
Gallery Top: www.gallerytop.co.uk
Foss Fine Art: www.fossfineart.com
Godfrey and Watt: www.godfreyandwatt.co.uk
Old Chapel Gallery:
www.oldchapelgallery.co.uk
Potterton Books: www.pottertonbookslondon.com
Robert Fogell Gallery: www.robfogell.co.uk
Serena Hall Gallery: www.serenahallgallery.co.uk
Twenty Twenty Gallery: www.twenty-twenty.co.uk
White Space Art: www.whitespaceart.com
Yew Tree Gallery: www.yewtreegallery.com
Yorkshire Sculpture Park Shop: www.ysp.co.uk/shop