Our President Lars Tharp, holding a Picasso ceramic from the Attenborough collection - find out more about LSA Presidents, both present and past, on the Information section


Photograph of LSA President Lars Tharp

Lars Tharp

LSA President from 2015

Lars Tharp is a Ceramics and Oriental Art Specialist, Broadcaster and Speaker who lectures worldwide on clay and culture. Lars Tharp is an independent art consultant and an experienced museum and exhibition curator;  he devises and hosts Cultural Tours for various travel companies including Martin Randall Travel and ACE, visiting China, Scandinavia, Dresden as well as London and other UK venues.  

Lars worked for 16 years for Sothebys, becoming a director and representing the auction house throughout many of its European offices. He has worked regularly with the BBC from 1986 to present on the Antiques Roadshow, and  on dozens of TV and radio programmes including his own series, Inside Antiques (BBC2) and as a contributor to Quizzeum

LSA Past President Douglas Smith

Douglas H Smith

LSA President 1987-2005

Architect, Artist and author of eight books on architecture, design, paintings and sketches. He held an unprecedented term of office as President of the Leicester Society of Artists for 27 years.

He founded and directed Douglas Smith Stimson Partnership Limited (DSSP) that was based in Leicester, a multi disciplinary practice of architects, landscape architects and interior designers.

Douglas now concentrates on painting and sketching. His watercolours are in collections of Europe, America and Canada.  His original 34 watercolours and 30 drawings, produced for  his book 'Iconic Modern Architecture'  have become part of the RIBA Drawing Collection held by the Victoria & Albert Museum London.  

Photograph of Bryan Organ

Bryan Organ

LSA President 1982-1986

Eminent portrait painter, recent work includes the portrait of Sir David Attenborough, his portfolio includes prime ministers, royal family, well known people such as Mary Quant, Elton John and many public and private commissions

Bryan Organ is now Patron of Leicester Society of Artists


LSA Presidents from 1906 to present day

2015 – present:  Lars Tharp, FSA
1987 – 2015   Douglas H Smith, Dip Arch FRIBA, FLI, FRSA
1982 – 1986   Bryan Organ
1977 – 1981   Guy Dixon JP
1971 – 1976   Denis Rice
1969 – 1970   Professor Jack Simmons
1967 – 1968   Konrad Smigielski
1965 – 1966   S J Pick
1963 – 1964   Stewart Mason
1958 – 1962   Guy Dixon JP
1956 – 1957   Alderman C R Keene CB JP
1953 – 1955   T G Hirst
1951 – 1952   Colin D B Ellis MC
1949 – 1950   Alderman W H Smith JP

1945 – 1948   H Percy Gee
1944 – 1945   A H Swain
1942 – 1944   Arnold Viccars
1940 – 1942   Harry Morley RA
1934 – 1940   The Duke of Rutland
1931 – 1934   Sir Arthur (Lord) Hazlerigg
1926 – 1930   George E Green
1920 – 1925   Sir Jonathan North
1913 – 1919   Sydney Gimson
1911 – 1912   George Chitham
1909 – 1910   A Corah
1907 – 1908   A H Paget
1900 – 1906   E Clephan